Sketchy

Well today is the first day of not using Photoshop to draw and paint. My new preferred program is Sketchbook Pro. I really like it so far, I just need tons of practice. So far it seems to be very easy to learn and adapt to, although I have a couple of things I still need to figure out quickly, like how to rotate the canvas and using the smooth line feature. Drawing with it is definitely much better (in my opinion) than in Photoshop, and its “painting” abilities seem to be about the same, which means I need to find a good paint program that isn’t Painter. Here is a sample of what I’ve played with so far in Sketchbook:

Sketchbook Pro practice

The first part shows simple sketching with a pencil set to 2H, the second part shows my attempt at inking in the lines on a new layer, and the third part shows the (rough) addition of color with a paintbrush. Obviously it isn’t finished, but I never intended it to be. If only you could have seen the shenanigans I went through just to get this far, you probably couldn’t stop laughing. I had this thing zooming in and out, flipping upside down and back, sometimes the whole thing was entirely off the screen. You can see that the paintbrush doesn’t really blend like real paint, but then neither does Photoshop, it’s just a matter of selecting colors and building up as you resample to blend. So basically, it will just take some practice. What? I have to spend time drawing and painting some more? Oh, darn!

~ by kbfotografix on December 10, 2012.

Leave a comment

 
Harold Ross Fine Art Photography

Light Painting Still Life Photography

Before I Forget

STORIES WITH NO BOOKS

poet4justicedotwordpressdotcom

The poet can reach where the sun cannot. -HINDU PROVERBThe greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Share With Us @ Clouds N Cups

We Sell Fashion Accessories N Nail Art Decor But There Is Always An Extra CHEERS To Share...Who Says Beauty Is Only Skin Deep?

Richard Sugden

"The important thing is not the camera but the eye."

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Marina Kanavaki

Art Towards a Happy Day

your mess, His Message

imperfect faith in a perfect God

Gary Schollmeier

Art and Photos

Simply Simplistic Complexities

The Complex seen Simply....

Geoff shoots the world

Photos from another Kiwi lost in London

LEANNE COLE

Trying to live a creative life

Artistico

notes on my creative journey by Kris Ancog