And Now For Something Totally Different…

Well, after much soul-searching I have decided to merge my art and photography blogs into one. You can find my artwork in the galleries to the right…

Green Eyes

This piece was quite a departure from the norm for me as it was done entirely in digital. Usually I will draw with pencil on paper first, then either scan that drawing or photograph it to get it into the computer, where I then paint it in Photoshop or Painter. This time I drew the original directly in Photoshop. I also colored it differently. Typically I lay down base colors then add darker or lighter shades of that color for value. This time I did all the values in black and white first, then added color on a new layer, setting that layer blend mode to “Color.” I think it worked pretty well. All in all I think it turned out ok, considering (1) I tried several new techniques and (2) I can’t really draw very well at all. I do have to admit that I cheated on the eyes; after I had finished the left eye’s outline and values I simply copied it, flipped it, and pasted it to create the right eye. Oh well. This also marks another departure for me in that I will no longer be using Photoshop to create artwork. My copy of Photoshop is…how shall I say…not entirely legal, and this bothers me. So I have purchased Sketchbook Pro, and will be trying to learn to use it. The program looks great, and the little bit of tinkering I have done with it is very exciting. It’s much more intuitive than Photoshop for creating artwork. I will also be trying several other programs for painting, including Artrage, TwistedBrush, and Paint Tool SAI, rather than my less-than-legal copy of Painter, which I find to be incredibly buggy and laggy. Hopefully my Mom will give me her other iMac, as I have already found a program to replace Photoshop for photo editing called Pixelmator, but it is Mac only, and my little laptop I currently use is Windows. Anyway, hope you enjoy this piece, turned out ok, can’t wait to practice more!

~ by kbfotografix on December 7, 2012.

2 Responses to “And Now For Something Totally Different…”

  1. Hey you, beautiful picture = ) Nominated you for the 2012 blogger award ty for everything = ) http://ayaime.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

 
Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Before I Forget

STORIES WITH NO BOOKS

poet4justicedotwordpressdotcom

The poet can reach where the sun cannot. -HINDU PROVERBThe greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Share With Us @ Clouds N Cups

We Sell Fashion Accessories N Nail Art Decor But There Is Always An Extra CHEERS To Share...Who Says Beauty Is Only Skin Deep?

Richard Sugden

"The important thing is not the camera but the eye."

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Letting My Photos Speak for Me

because I cannot come up with the words.

Marina Kanavaki

Art Towards a Happy Day

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

your mess, His Message

imperfect faith in a perfect God

Ed Brown Photography

Wildlife and nature pictures

Simply Simplistic Complexities

The Complex seen Simply....

Geoff shoots the world

Photos from another Kiwi lost in London

LEANNE COLE

Fine Art Photographer ~ Daring to be Different

