The Little Things

I have a couple of hours before work, but my model is still sleeping the sleep of the innocent, so I thought I would poke around here a bit and learn how to use this WordPress thing a little bit. As I’m sure you all know, using the computer builds a powerful thirst, so of course I had to get myself a frosty beverage of some kind. Typically this would mean filling a large plastic cup with ice and Coke, but I am going to try and ditch the soda habit, so instead I filled a large plastic cup with ice and water.

Now, you may think “So what?” and you’d be right. Not really that big of a deal, is it? However, that is my point. We have recently moved into this house, which came equipped with a refrigerator, so our fancy fridge with its ice-making capabilities sits forlorn and forgotten outside along with an oven and a washing machine. The inside fridge has an ice maker, but it doesn’t work, so I had to purchase some ice cube trays (remember those?) and fill them with water. The water I used is the filtered, purified water that we purchase in five gallon jugs from the local grocery store for 25 cents a gallon, that is then dispensed through our fancy ceramic water crock. It’s all very low-tech, and actually requires a touch of effort on our part to be able to produce ice cubes.

Again you say “So what?” AHA! Let me tell you, my friends, that this is a very good thing. Our ice cubes no longer taste like copper or plastic or some weird unidentified metal. They even look cleaner. No joke. My coke (when I was still drinking it) tasted better, and the water I’m drinking right now tastes soooo much better. Good, in fact. So good, I’m on my second glass.

This is a small thing, a little thing, having pure, clean ice cubes, and yet it has an impact. Too many times we get caught up in big things, or what we perceive as big things, but I’m here to tell you, the little things are where it’s at. Hope you have a great day, thanks for stopping by, and God bless.

~ by kbfotografix on September 8, 2012.

2 Responses to “The Little Things”

  1. Can you believe I have NEVER had a fridge with an automatic ice maker? We’ve always had to use trays. Which is primarily the reason we *never* have ice in the house. Ptttthp.

    • I would say that’s sad, but because of the tastiness of my home made ice cubes, I no longer believe in pre-fabrication and the “ease of technology” so I’ll say “Good for you!”

Leave a Reply

 
Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Before I Forget

STORIES WITH NO BOOKS

poet4justicedotwordpressdotcom

The poet can reach where the sun cannot. -HINDU PROVERBThe greatest WordPress.com site in all the land!

Share With Us @ Clouds N Cups

We Sell Fashion Accessories N Nail Art Decor But There Is Always An Extra CHEERS To Share...Who Says Beauty Is Only Skin Deep?

Richard Sugden

"The important thing is not the camera but the eye."

The Daily Post

The Art and Craft of Blogging

Letting My Photos Speak for Me

because I cannot come up with the words.

Marina Kanavaki

Art Towards a Happy Day

Chris Martin Writes

Sowing seeds for the Kingdom

your mess, His Message

imperfect faith in a perfect God

Ed Brown Photography

Wildlife and nature pictures

Gary Schollmeier

Art and Photos

Simply Simplistic Complexities

The Complex seen Simply....

Geoff shoots the world

Photos from another Kiwi lost in London

LEANNE COLE

Fine Art Photographer ~ Daring to be Different

